Density of transformed random variables

In summary, the conversation discusses the use of transformations of random variables and the Jacobian determinant to find the density of a transformed random variable. The solution involves creating a new variable and using the change of variable theorem to find the density. There are questions about the choice of variables and their relation to regions and the change of variables theorem. It is also mentioned that it is possible to use different mappings and probability spaces for the transformed variables.
RandomVariabl
I'm studying for the probability actuarial exam and I came across a problem involving transformations of random variable and use of the Jacobian determinant to find the density of transformed random variable, and I was confused about the general method of finding these new densities. I know the Jacobian matrix is important in the change of variable theorem, but I am having trouble connecting the vector calculus concepts with probability distributions.

Let X, Y have a joint pdf of f(x,y) = e^(-x-y), x>0, y>0. Find the density of U = e^(-x-y).
Solution: The solution creates a new variable V=X=h(u,v), and let's Y= -lnU-V = k(U,V), and finds a new joint pdf g(u,v)=f(V,-lnu-v)*J[h,k] = 1,where J[h,k] is the Jacobian determinant of h, and k. Then, fu(u) = integral(0,-ln u) g(u,v)dv = -ln U, as 0<V<-ln U.

*I am confused why we let V = X...I figure we can we also let V = Y from symmetry and get the same result, but can we let V = 2X, or V= X^2, or V=r(X),r arbitrary function(would r need special properties such as being injective, or bijective?), when computing the density fu. Do