1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Department presentation I'm doomed

1. Nov 20, 2006 #1
    I have to present one of the lab experiments we did on Nov. 27. I'm in third year, and this is the first presentation I've done in physics. The presentation will be open to everyone, which basically means the entire department will be there. Does anyone have any pointers for this? I plan on knowing my subject well, but any extra advice would be appreciated.

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 20, 2006 #2
    My department did the same thing for third years. Most physics undergrads to horribly in physics talks, so you want to set reasonable expectations, and be willing to learn from the experience. Of course, you'll want to be as prepared as you can.

Really the only thing that can help is to practice - hunt down your research advisor, and make him listen to your whole presentation under real time constraints. Get as much constructive criticism as you can! Most physics students are simply awful at public speaking - they face the powerpoint/chalkboard while talking so that no one can hear them, they mumble, they cram tons of equations on the board without setting them up and explaining what they mean, etc. Sadly, a lot of professional researchers are equally clueless. So get your advisor, supervisor, professor, someone qualified who is willing to set aside an hour of their research life to help you learn how to speak to a scientific audience.