Designing a Model Aircraft: Calculating Thrust and Lift for an Efficient Flight

In summary: ever...) but I'm just a high school student, so a lot of this stuff is new to me. Thank you for the book suggestions, I'll give those a look over. I don't want it to come across as me underestimating the scope of the project or anything like that (nobody...ever...) but I'm just a high school student, so a lot of this stuff is new to me.
TheArrow
TL;DR Summary
Planning to build a model aircraft, looking for feedback
Hello Everyone,

I'm planning on designing a model aircraft that would be powered by an Arduino and electric motor. I'm interested in pursuing an aerospace degree and I figured the best way to get a headstart would be be to dive right into a project. This is also probably overthinking/overdoing it, but I want to get in the mindset of "thinking" like an engineer.

Thinking aloud, if anyone actually knows what they're doing, by all means correct me or give ideas:
  1. Since I have a payload in mind (i.e. the Arduino board, the power supply, servos, etc.), I have to ballpark how much thrust the prop will need to generate to move the aircraft. From playing around with the industry standard design simulator, Kerbal Space Program, I'm looking at this similarly to Delta-V. A rocket needs to provide sufficient Delta-V to lift the payload and the mass of the rocket to fulfill whatever mission objectives are laid out for the payload.
  2. Design an airframe around the motor and other components with sufficient lift to make the plane do plane things.
  3. Design a controller to do pilot things.
So for Step 1, I was wondering how I would go about computing how much thrust would be required so I can select an appropriate prop/motor combination.