1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Determine the angular speed theta_dot

1. Jan 24, 2016 #1

CGI

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    upload_2016-1-24_13-13-6.png

2. Relevant equations
    Vθ = r x θdot
    Vr = rdot

Accelθ = r ⋅ θdot^2 + 2(r dot)(theta dot)
    Accelr = r double dot - (r ⋅(θdot)^2)

3. The attempt at a solution
    I know that the answer is supposed to be
    upload_2016-1-24_13-19-2.png
    But I'm not quite sure on how I'm supposed to get to an answer like that.
    I'm still relatively new to polar coordinates, but I was hoping someone
    could get me to start thinking in the right direction?

I thought that my position would be R = bθ and if I took the derivative with
    respect to θ, I would get R_dot = b, which I think would be equal to π/2.

I'm not quite sure that's right though. I'd really appreciate it if someone could
    help me out!

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 24, 2016 #2

Simon Bridge

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    2016 Award

The position is not ##R=b\theta## ... ##\dot R \neq dR/d\theta## ... and there is no reason b should be any particular value.
    You need to start again - what is the definition of "position"? What is the definition of "velocity" and how does that relate to "speed"? What does the dot notation tell you?

4. Jan 29, 2016 #3

CGI

Okay, I'm sorry it took so long to respond. I actually waited to talk to my professor to understand polar coordinates a little better.
    I can't come up with a good definition of position except that they are coordinates to a particular point on a graph. When I think of velocity I often think