Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Do you keep up with math in real life?

1. Aug 12, 2010 #1
    I've recently decided to shift from engineering to an MBA. Im in my final year of EE and once this year is over, I'll be getting into an MBA. It wasnt an easy decision to come to, and the one part that really gets to me is that I'll be giving up math!

I mean, I know I wont completely give it up, cause any form of financial analysis requires at least a functional understanding of mathematics, but man! All those years spent studying DE's and complex analysis, geometry, algebra down the drain! That really really hurts. Im thinking of getting into heavy economics with a focus on management some how because I've heard it relies on mathematics, but other than that, it sound like the end of the road for math.

Anyone else go through something similar? How do you keep current or at least involved in a subject/field unrelated to your every day work/life?

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 12, 2010 #2

Gokul43201

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

PF, perhaps?

4. Aug 12, 2010 #3

Ivan Seeking

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

No matter what you do, don't think for a moment that all of those years are down the drain. IMO, there is more value in the intellectual rigor of mathematics, than in the mechanics of it. It is something that will always be with you.

Btw, it has generally been true that an EE-MBA is a strong combination.

Last edited: Aug 12, 2010
  5. Aug 12, 2010 #4

Danger

Gold Member

I have almost no knowledge of math (primary-school algebra and enough geometry to figure out the areas and volumes of simple shapes), so the question doesn't really apply to me.
    The approach to your situation which first comes to mind is to perhaps take up tutoring math as a hobby. It will keep you sharp and help someone else at the same time.