Does amplitude require spatial or temporal parameters?

In summary, the conversation revolves around the question of whether or not a measurement of amplitude or signal intensity can be made without explicitly defining spatial or temporal parameters. The conversation touches on the concept of energy spectra and how they can be used to measure intensity at various energy or momentum values. However, it is clarified that all measurements ultimately involve a connection to spatial and temporal dimensions, even if they are not explicitly stated.
LucidDreamer
Hello,

I am an intern in patent law working on a project outside of my technical expertise. Does amplitude or signal intensity require defining spatial or temporal parameters to measure the amplitude.

This is basically concerning a patent where we want to argue that a signal amplitude can be measured without explicitly defining some spatial or temporal aspect of it.

I'm guessing it does require defining where in time or space you want to measure an amplitude, but I'm wondering if there is any way of reasoning my way around this constraint as this is law and a theoretical view on the problem not trying to actually put it into practice

Physics news on Phys.org
LucidDreamer said:
Hello,

I am an intern in patent law working on a project outside of my technical expertise. Does amplitude or signal intensity require defining spatial or temporal parameters to measure the amplitude.

This is basically concerning a patent where we want to argue that a signal amplitude can be measured without explicitly defining some spatial or temporal aspect of it.

I'm guessing it does require defining where in time or space you want to measure an amplitude, but I'm wondering if there is any way of reasoning my way around this constraint as this is law and a theoretical view on the problem not trying to actually put it into practice