1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Does it matter how long it takes to finish your degree?

1. Aug 1, 2008 #1
    My major is physics. I started college awhile ago, and have finished my associate's. Now I am working on my upper level classes. I am a part- time stay at home mom to my 17 month daughter, I work part time in retail (:frown:) and I'm a part time student. With my schedule, I can pretty much only take 2 (maybe 3) classes a semester that fit into my degree. My concern is this: when I'm looking for a professional job, will they reject my application for having spent too long in college?

I do plan on doing research/ internships before I graduate for experience. I know experience plays a major factor in getting a job.

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 1, 2008 #2

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

I think it really depends on the circumstances, but in your specific case I would say no. Most employers would be impressed by someone who could complete a part-time degree while being a parent and holding down a part-time job.

Length of time may raise an eyebrow in cases where the applicant took seven years for a four year degree and didn't do anything else concurrently. Students who take a year off to travel abroad, work, volunteer, or serve in the armed forces for example are generally just as competative as their faster-finishing colleagues.

4. Aug 1, 2008 #3
    No, you have a damn good reason for taking as long as you have.

It's basically when you take 2 classes at time, but don't have a job or anybody to care for that will hurt you.

5. Aug 1, 2008 #4

lisab

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Hi flame-

I agree with Choppy and War - it won't look bad to the majority of employers.