Doing 3 second order differential equations numerically

In summary, the conversation discusses solving three second order differential equations in C, with the person seeking help admitting to having little experience in this area. They are open to using existing math libraries or writing their own code. The solution proposed involves reducing the equations to a set of six first order ODEs, which can then be solved using known methods such as Euler's method or Runge-Kutta. The conversation also mentions that the equations can be solved exactly using Maple or Mathematica.
WraithM
I want to write a program in C that's going to solve 3 second order differential equations, and I have little to no experience in solving differential equations in C (however, I know C well enough). I'm having a bit of trouble.

First of all, I don't really know what method I'm going to use to solve these differential equations. I know how to do Euler's method, and Runge-Kutta and those things, but perhaps there's a math library out there for C that works magic with differential equations. I don't really care how these equations get solved. I just care that they get solved, but I'm more than willing to write some code myself to solve them. If anybody has any suggestions, that'd be extremely appreciated.

Also, I don't really know how I'm going to solve 3 equations at once. If I write my own differential equation solver, I'm going to substitute and make them first order, then solve again, but I don't really know how to deal with equations that depend on each other. :/

These are the equations:

[tex]\ddot{t} = \frac{-2M \dot{r} \dot{t}}{r(r-2M)}[/tex]

[tex]\ddot{\phi} = \frac{-2\dot{r}\dot{\phi}}{r}[/tex]

[tex]\ddot{r} = \frac{M\dot{r}^2}{r(r-2M)} - \frac{M(r-2M)}{r^3}\dot{t}^2 + (r - 2M) \dot{\phi}^2[/tex]

Dots mean differentiation with respect to [tex]\tau[/tex].

How do you solve 3 differential equations that all depend upon each other at once (numerically)?