Double majoring in Mech E and Physics - Grad school

In summary, the speaker is an undergraduate sophomore double majoring in Physics and Mechanical Engineering at Rutgers. They are considering pursuing a master's degree and PhD in Physics, but are concerned about their lack of physics research experience and ability to take graduate level courses. They are aiming for a top 10 school for Physics and are considering continuing research in mechanical engineering related to a branch of physics. The speaker is also seeking advice on whether this will hinder their chances of attending a school like Princeton, Berkeley, or MIT. The response suggests that Mech E research can be just as valuable as Physics research and offers recommendations for getting into a top 10 school, such as a high GPA, strong Physics GRE score, and quality research with publications and excellent letters of recommendation
thazard
I'm currently an undergraduate sophomore at Rutgers double majoring in Physics and Mechanical Engineering. I've recently made the decision that I want to go for a master's degree in physics and then potentially a PhD. However, I'm doing research in mechanical engineering right now and I don't think I'll have a strong enough physics background by next Fall to undertake physics research. My GPA is very high and I'm confident I can do well on the GRE, but the research aspect is concerning.

My goal is to get into a top 10 school for Physics. Is that achievable without having done research? I'm planning on continuing doing research in mechanical engineering related to some branch of physics (maybe thermal) and do research in physics my senior year, but I feel like I'm behind competitors. I also won't be able to take many graduate classes in physics (only 1-2). Will this hinder my chances of being able to attend a school like Princeton or Berkeley or MIT?

Physics news on Phys.org