How Can I Overcome Limited Research Experience for Grad School in Physics?

TheGoobermensch
Alright so here's the deal: I graduated recently (spring '23) from Ohio State University with a BS in physics. I graduated with honors and magna cum laude (3.8 ish gpa). I took the general GRE and got 162 verbal, 165 quant, and 4.5 writing. I spent some time in a master program to pursue teaching physics at a high school level, but that really wasn't my speed. I have decided that I want to pursue my phd in physics after all. Here's where I need some help here; I have basically no real research experience from my undergraduate education. This worries me for two reasons: One, grad school is a LOT of research, so how will any institution I apply for have any confidence in me? Two, this limits my ability to get letters of recommendation, as I no longer have a research advisor as a shoe in for a great rec letter.

I feel confident that I can get two solid rec letters out of professors I had recently, but a third will be a little difficult, and will likely end up being something pretty generic from a prof who doesn't really remember me that well. What caliber of schools should I be looking into? Am I overrating the research thing, or am I screwed? Really any advice at all would be greatly appreciated, I am feeling a little bit on the outside looking in.

Physics news on Phys.org
Not clear if these two pieces of what you say are in-line with eachother:

I spent some time in a master program to pursue teaching physics at a high school level, but that really wasn't my speed.

I have basically no real research experience from my undergraduate education.

Finished the Masters program? Was that not for Physics but instead for teaching physical sciences and therefore included no actual natural science research?