1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Dress Code for PhD Visiting Weekend

1. Feb 29, 2016 #1

joshmccraney

Gold Member

Hi PF!

Title says it all: what is the dress code for PhD visiting weekend?

Thanks so much!

Josh

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 29, 2016 #2

fresh_42

Staff: Mentor

Nope. It doesn't say who visits whom from which faculty or industry branch, where on which occasion and time and to which purpose.

4. Feb 29, 2016 #3

joshmccraney

Gold Member

Are you wanting to know if I am a prospective student or if I am a professor?
    Mechanical engineering, but does that matter? I was trying to keep this post open for others who may have the similar question.
    I didn't want to list the school; should I? And what do you mean by time?
    PhD visiting weekend.

5. Feb 29, 2016 #4

fresh_42

Staff: Mentor

Yep, almost. I wanted to know whether you are a PhD visiting something or if you are visited by one. I guess(!) the latter is the case.
    Well, it might. Lawyers or Meds have other preferences as e.g. physicists or mathematicians.
    Engineers usually don't attach much importance on dressing. And if you are a student, which I'm still guessing (!), casual will do. Perhaps a shirt without T.
    I didn't know you just want to discuss dress codes in general. In this case I have no recommendations.
    No. But there is certainly a difference whether someone visits a school or a ceremonial act to give some professor an emeritus status.
    You usually are dressed different in the morning or for a late night dinner.
    Whatever this means.

6. Feb 29, 2016 #5

joshmccraney

Gold Member