1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Easier for self-study: Analysis or Algebra?

1. Mar 19, 2008 #1

nicksauce

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

I am a physics major doing a minor in math going into my last year in the fall. I want to learn both algebra I and analysis I, but my schedule doesn't allow for it, so I want to take one of them in the fall and self-study the other during the summer. In your opinion which would be easier for self-study?

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 19, 2008 #2
    What material do they cover and what are your interests.

Personally, I majored in physics/mathematics and took algebra over analysis.

The main use of analysis in physics is probably residue calculus which I taught myself when I needed it.

4. Mar 19, 2008 #3
    Residue calculus? Is that stuff with like the Cauchy theorem where you have imaginary (and I think real ones work too) poles in the denominator and you are integrating over it? With Jordan's lemma and such? We learned that in the Mathematical Physics series in my school.

If your school offers that class, TAKE IT. You'll likely learn a bunch of stuff you never knew would be useful without going through the whole class for it, so if you like algebra over analysis, for example, you'd still learn what you need in Math Phys while taking the math classes you want.

5. Mar 19, 2008 #4

SCV

...and he would not even learn residue calculus in analysis (as it belong in Complex Analysis).

6. Mar 19, 2008 #5

nicksauce

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Algebra I: