Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Effect of aqua regia on P, S, C and Si?

1. Nov 22, 2007 #1
    I've got a sample containing 8 substances: P, S, C and Si (+4 metals) wich i need to analyse. I was planning on using aqua regia to dissolve the metals, remove the 4 substances that aren't metals (and deal with them later ^^) and then use atomic absorbtion spectroscopy to measure the metals' levels but I was wondering if the royal water would have any effect on any of the P, S, C or Si that are also in the sample?

At first glance I would say it would have no effect, but I've never worked with agua regia before and it seems to be a rather peculiar mixture :). Anyone have any experience with this?

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 22, 2007 #2

ShawnD

Science Advisor

In what form are these? Are you actually given red/white/black phosphorus? Is it a phosphate? Is it part of something organic?
    Is this part of a powder, or is the sample a solution with sediment on the bottom?

4. Nov 22, 2007 #3

Gokul43201

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

The OP's sample may just be an alloy. AAS will give you concentrations for non-metallic components too.

5. Nov 23, 2007 #4
    The sample is a powder and the P, S, Si and C are present in their 'elemental form' (not sure about the english word... but I mean that they're not bonded with another element).

I also have some rough amounts btw:

Si: 0 < x < 1g
    S: 0 < x < 0.1g
    P: 0 < x < 0.1g
    Mn: 0 < x < 1g
    Ni: 0 < x < 0.1g
    Cr: 0 < x < 1g
    Cu: 0 < x < 1g
    C: 1-2% of total sample

But i should be able to detect the non-metallic compounds as well? I thought this technique only worked for metals in solution. I was assuming the non-metallic compounds wouldn't dissolve either.

Last edited: Nov 23, 2007
  6. Nov 23, 2007 #5

chemisttree

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member