Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Elaboration on matrix operations.

1. Jul 21, 2010 #1
    Hi everybody,

I'm currently studying matrices on an algebra 2 level. The problem is that right now the book is just teaching what to do and how to do it, but it's not telling why it has to be done that way (for instance: matrix multiplication, determinants and matrix inversion). Basically, it's not teaching the theory behind it.
    My question is:
    Is it possible to already learn the theory behind matrices at an algebra 2 level.
    If so, is there a book or a website you can refer me too.

Thanks in advance,

Shawn Garsed

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 21, 2010 #2

arildno

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    Dearly Missed

but it's not telling why it has to be done that way (for instance: matrix multiplication, determinants and matrix inversion). "

Here, you must not confuse two levels:

1. THE LEVEL OF DEFINITIONS
    What operations you can "do" with a matrix or two, are infinite:
    You may add them termwise, you might switch a few terms between them, or any other creative measure.

That we choose to <i>define</i> some operations, is, largely, arbitrary.

2. ON BASIS OF DEFINITIONS, WHAT CAN THE OPERATION "DO"?
    Now, for example, with matrix multiplication, as defined in 1, we may PROVE a variety of properties.
    For example, if A, B, C are matrices we generally have (as long as we can multiply two of them):
    A*(B*C)=(A*B)*C
    That is, matrix "multiplication" is an <i>associative</i> operation.

Furthermore, given a matrix sum operation as elementwise addition (only possible if the matrices are of equal size!), we also have <i>distributivity</i> of matrix "multiplication:
    A*(B+C)=A*B+A*C