Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Electron and the uncertainty principle

1. Dec 8, 2011 #1
    I completly understand the uncertainty principle and why we cant pinpoint the exact location of an electron. but what if we could?? would it be important that would could find the location of an electrom? would we know more about atoms?

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 8, 2011 #2
    The answer is no. The uncertainty principle is just an equation stating what actually happens. It also takes humans one step closer to a complete unified theory.

4. Dec 9, 2011 #3
    i also thought about that when i studied the uncertainty principle, im wondering what diffrence could it make if someone could determine the exact location and momentum of an electron inside an atom?

5. Dec 9, 2011 #4
    wave function sci contain all the information about the moving micro particle and mode of sci square gives the probability of finding the particle........bcoz sci has no physical significance.

6. Dec 9, 2011 #5

Bobbywhy

Gold Member

Austim14:
    It seems you do not have a complete understanding of the Uncertainty Principle. The position (exact location) of a particle CAN be known completely, contrary to what you posted.

“One striking aspect of the difference between classical and quantum physics is that whereas classical mechanics presupposes that exact simultaneous values can be assigned to all physical quantities, quantum mechanics denies this possibility, the prime example being the position and momentum of a particle. According to quantum mechanics, the more precisely the position (momentum) of a particle is given, the less precisely can one say what its momentum (position) is.”

http://plato.stanford.edu/entries/qt-uncertainty/

7. Dec 9, 2011 #6

It would render our formulation of quantum mechanics obsolete and turn one of the most accurately tested theories upside down.