1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Electrostatics: Work required to assemble point charges

1. Jun 13, 2015 #1
    I'm studying for the physics GRE and am fairly poor with EM.
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

What is the work needed to assemble four point charges q into a regular tetrahedron of side length a?

2. Relevant equations
    W = 1/2ΣqiV(ri)

3. The attempt at a solution

Assume that the origin is at one of the points, then the potential between each pair (there will be 3 pairs) is V = q/(4πεa). Since there are three pairs the V shows up 3 times in the summation. Also in the summation according to the work equation I wrote above you must multiple by q. Hence W = 1/2 * 3q2/(4πεa).

I get W = 1/2 * [ 3q2/(4πεa) ] , but the solutions says the work is 3q2 / (2πεa).

Why is there not a 2 * 4 *πεa in the denominator? Am I missing something?

Thanks!

Last edited: Jun 13, 2015
  2. jcsd
  3. Jun 13, 2015 #2

mfb

2016 Award

Staff: Mentor

How did you get your answer?

4. Jun 13, 2015 #3
    Assume that the origin is at one of the points, then the potential between each pair (there will be 3 pairs) is V = q/(4πεa). Since there are three pairs the V shows up 3 times in the summation. Also in the summation according to the work equation I wrote above you must multiple by q. Hence W = 1/2 * 3q2/(4πεa).

5. Jun 13, 2015 #4
    There is two ideas here. The potential and the potential energy. The potential is ##\Sigma q_iV_i ## but the potential energy that we can get if destroy this distribution is the half. I think you have right.

6. Jun 13, 2015 #5

mfb

2016 Award

There are three pairs for each charge. There are four charges (but avoid double-counting).

I don't see where your factor 1/2 comes from.