Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Engineering Primers for Non-Engineer

1. Jan 6, 2007 #1
    I need some direction. I am simply a poser. :) I have a BA and MBA, but now wish I had studied something different (particularly ME).

I am a die-hard automotive performance enthusiast. I have Heywood's book as well as Taylor's 2 volumes. I even attended Heywood's week long class on IC engines last summer. I still feel that too much of that is over my head. I plan on attacking the math portion by taking Calculus again (17+ years after I first took it) at my local community college. I will likely try to take a couple of their engineering courses, and physics refresher is a must as well .

I have read several other automotive performance books, but most them are either very high-level and/or are oriented towards the 'mechanics' but not the function, reasons, principles, etc.

I really want to persue a Masters of Engineering in Engine Systems:
    This is a long-term plan. I would like to get started with some of the basics and go from there.

If you have any suggestions or input, they would be greatly appreciated.

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 6, 2007 #2
    Just start taking some physics courses and math. Once you get that under your belt jump into engineering courses like statics, dynamics, and the like.
  4. Jan 7, 2007 #3

That is definitely my plan. Just wondering if there were some entry-level books that you guys might recommend.
  5. Jan 7, 2007 #4

Staff: Mentor

One might wish to find out what texts are used in these courses -

from http://mees.engr.wisc.edu/students/profile.lasso

Likely students taking this program have a BS in Mech Eng, which would include mechanics (and statics and dynamics), thermodynamics and heat transfer, fluid mechanics.

Excluding math, technical writing, and technical and liberal arts electives, the ME core at UWisc is: