Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Exact sequences

1. Apr 5, 2007 #1

StatusX

Homework Helper

This is a very vague question, but I'd like to know whatever insights anyone could offer about exact sequences. What do they represent? Why are they so important? I'm studying homology right now, and exact sequences are central to the theory, but I've never seen them before. What is the intuition behind the different lemmas (snake, five, etc), or are they just abstract diagram chasing with no easy interpretation?

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 5, 2007 #2

matt grime

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

The point about homology is that it measures defects, or obstructions.

So suppose that I have a map of vector spaces, f:V-->W. What is the obstruction that prevents that being an isomorphism? Well, there is the kernel of f, stopping it being injective and the cokernel of f stopping it being surjective. What that means is that we can complete

V-->W

to an exact sequence

0-->ker(f)-->V-->W-->coker(f)-->0

Anyhow. getting back to things at hand.

Things in homology are about measuring defects. Snake lemmas, etc, tell you how those defects are related.

It is just linear algebra, essentially - if something is not injective it has a kernel, etc.

4. Apr 5, 2007 #3

StatusX

Homework Helper

Thanks, that makes sense. In a "perfect" space, with no holes, every cycle would be a boundary, and so the chain groups would form an exact sequence, and the homolgy would be trivial. The homology groups tell us how the space deviates from this, ie, what kinds of holes it has.

But I still don't understand where the actual, perfect exact sequences come into things. For example, take the Mayer Vietoris sequence. To derive this, you form the short exact sequence of chain groups.

[tex]0 \rightarrow C_n(A \cap B) \rightarrow C_n(A) \oplus C_n(B) \rightarrow C_n (A+B) \rightarrow 0[/tex]