Exhaust back pressure on a 4 stroke ICE?

In summary, back pressure is not needed on a 4-stroke engine and what exactly is exhaust back pressure?
5.0stang
Would someone explain to me why back pressure is not needed on a 4-stroke engine and what exactly is exhaust back pressure?

Thanks guys and gals.

Engineering news on Phys.org
Well, I'm a physicist, not an engineer, and all I know about engines is what I learned in high school ... but since it's late at night and no one else seems to be answering, I'll take a stab at this:

I'd guess that exhaust back pressure is needed in a 2-stroke engine because the compression stroke and the exhaust stroke are the same thing, i.e. the exhaust valve is open while you're trying to compress the next dose of air+fuel. Without some back-pressure from the exhaust (which presumably comes from the exhaust manifold and plumbing being sufficiently restrictive), you wouldn't get much compression - the fuel/air mix would just be forced out the exhaust valve.

With a 4-stroke engine, the valves are all shut during the compression stroke, so you don't need any external pressure to get good compression - the cylinder is effectively sealed.

Make sense?

Hi ‘stang,