Few questions about engineering( schools)

In summary, the conversation revolves around the speaker's uncertainty about which Canadian universities to apply to for engineering and whether they need to take an English course. They mention their interest in becoming a civil engineer and their strengths in math and science. Another person suggests Waterloo as a good choice due to its coop program. They also mention the importance of work experience in the current economy. The conversation ends with the speaker expressing their desire to leave their current location to explore new places.
kelseyE
Hi everyone, I am a grade 12 student and everyone I know is applying or already accepted into a university and I have no idea on where I want to go. I want to become an engineer, probably a civil engineer because I find that designing buildings and other big constructs would be very fun.
I am a good math and science student so I think that I can handle that if i tried.
So my questions are basically,
1. What Canadian universities would be a good idea to apply for? I was thinking about Waterloo or Dalhousie, but not really sure so would like ideas and why they would be a good choice.

2. How hard is engineering from one school to another?

3.And finally, do you need to take an English course? I'm a weak English student and that I am not sure I would be able to do if it was a very intense course.

Anyway I would like to say thanks in advance and I hope for responses!

Physics news on Phys.org
Hi, I am also a grade 12 student in Canada
If you love designing buildings, wouldn't that be closer to architecture?
1. I believe Waterloo is the best choice for future engineers, especially because of its coop programme. What my cousellor told us is, in economy like this, work experience is really important to get a permenant job.
2. I can't really tell.
3. In case of waterloo, as long as you pass english writing exam (I forgot what it is called), you don't have to take english courses