1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Financial mathematics?

1. May 9, 2013 #1
    Hi guys,

I'm an undergraduate in a mathematics & economics double major right now. I have struggled pretty hard with math in the past (even failed many times) but I have pretty much developed the resolve to see it through because I enjoy it and I think the challenge is actually quite defining. I'll actually be graduating after this year, and my plan is to apply for the masters in financial mathematics (MMF) at the University of Toronto and a couple other schools.

The kicker is that I have never done any strictly financial mathematics. I know it seems weird to want to apply to do a whole masters on the subject, but I am moderately proficient as a self-trader (was able to make very large contributions to my school costs) and I am very interested in finance so I figured with my skillset, it was the best route. I also like applied math very much over pure.

I'm taking my first "mathematical economics" class right now, and I hate it. I loathe it. We are essentially re-doing all of set theory with binary relations, which when I took in algebraic group theory, almost drove me right out of mathematics... if this guy starts talking about homomorphisms and rings I might actually jump out the window to avoid having to go through it again. I was just wondering: is financial math similar to economic math? I was under the impression that financial maths was largely set in probability, stochastic calculus, regression/sampling, and things like Markov chains, which I have extensive exposure in and like.

2. jcsd
  3. May 9, 2013 #2

MarneMath

Education Advisor