1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Forgetting things you have learn't in previous years

1. Apr 4, 2015 #1
    While browsing the homework questions section I find myself unable to answer - for example - some of the 1st/2nd year physics questions and I'm currently in my 3rd year. I could have answered them at the time of studying but now it seems I can only remember the things I'm currently studying. Is this normal? How do the homework helpers manage to remember everything and answer a broad range of physics questions? Do they have superior mental abilities?

Would be interested to know if anyone else has this problem.

And also how to remember to spell the word learnt.

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 4, 2015 #2

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

Can you tell us in detail how you study for a topic?

4. Apr 4, 2015 #3

Sure, first I review the lecture notes, then the problem sets, then the past exam papers. I usually do well in the exams but find I do not retain the information for very long, especially when I start studying a new subject on the course.

5. Apr 4, 2015 #4

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

How long do you study a specific concept?
    How often do you revise it?
    Do you make pictures or mindmaps?
    Do you look for problems not related to the problem sets?
    Do you look up the concepts and read explanations in other books?
    Do you ask yourself questions during reading the lecture notes? What kind of questions? How often?

6. Apr 4, 2015 #5

SteamKing

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

You're still in school and you're worried about not remembering things from a couple of years before?