1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

From applied mathematics to physics.

1. Feb 14, 2014 #1
    I am currently an undergraduate student at a department of applied mathematics.

Its a 4 years (240 ects) program in which I can take lots of physics classes directly from the department of physics of my university as well.

The thing is that I start to believe that I like more to do physics unfortunately I don't know if that is a viable option for me.

What I mean is that I don't know if I can pursue a physics Ph.D (lets say on something relevant to theoretical physics) after my graduation.

Is it mandatory to get a masters degree in physics first, in order to be accepted for a Ph.D in physics because my degree will be more relevant to mathematics?

I apologize for my English its just that I am not a native speaker (also I don't study in an English speaking university ) but of course I will continue studying English with the hope to be more than proficient when I manage to get my degree because I aim to continue my academic career in USA or England.

I thank you in advance for your advise.

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 14, 2014 #2

ZapperZ

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

4. Feb 14, 2014 #3
    Thank you for your post.

Something more acute to my question precise and quick? I just want to know if its theoretically and practically possible to go directly for a Ph.D in physics (USA/England) having a degree in applied mathematics

I will read the topic on your link but currently I can't since I have to prepare for my exams :P

5. Feb 14, 2014 #4

jgens

Gold Member

Yes it is definitely possible. I know several people who did exactly that in the past couple years.

6. Feb 14, 2014 #5

Vanadium 50

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor