From computer science to physics

In summary, the conversation discusses the possibility of pursuing a degree in physics after completing a degree in computer science. The question is whether this would require starting over and going through a full undergraduate program again or if there are similarities between the two fields that could potentially shorten the process. The advice given is to take the Physics GRE practice test to assess one's knowledge and to focus on building a strong application package for graduate admissions committees. The conversation also mentions the potential for some overlap in coursework, but ultimately, it depends on individual colleges and their specific requirements.
ro.m.j
Has anyone here completed undergrad or grad degree in one field and then decided to go physics?

I have a bachelor's in CS and I'm wondering would i have to go full undergrad again if i would like a degree in physics. I've always loved physics and have completed couple of physics and math classes in my CS degree.

Would i have to start all over and go through four years of undergrad courses again or do CS and physics degrees have a lot in common?

Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
You can get a sense of where you stand by taking the Physics GRE practice test. Dont spoil it by looking at the problems ahead of time. Take it cold, as you will have too for the real Physics GRE, and see how you do.

Otherwise, its up to the graduate admissions committee whether or not they want you. They will look at your GRE scores, your GPA/transcripts and letters of recommendation from professors you did research with (or just took classes from). If your application package is good and relevant to their research interests they are free to take you if they want.