1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Programs From Undergrad Scotland to PhD America, theoretically what would the steps be?

1. Aug 26, 2012 #1
    Hi,
    I'm just beginning my undergraduate course (Physics) and have been thinking/dreaming :) what, Ideally, I would like to do. I understand I can't really decide on where to do post-grad until I've decided what I want to do more specifically, but what are the general steps that need to be taken to go from where I am Undergraduate in Scotland to a PhD at a top American Uni?
    Is it possible?
    Is this an answerable question?

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 26, 2012 #2

jtbell

Staff: Mentor

The big difference between getting a PhD in the U.S. and in Europe is that in the U.S. you enter a PhD program immediately after the bachelor's degree, and don't go through a separate master's degree program first. Basically, a U.S. PhD program includes both master's level coursework and the research which produces your PhD dissertation.

You apply for PhD programs during your last year of undergraduate work, and need to take the Graduate Record Examination (both the general GRE and the physics GRE) during the fall of that year. When you apply, you generally need to submit GRE scores, your academic record (transcript), letters of recommendation from (usually) professors who know you and your work, and some kind of statement of interests.

There's a sticky thread at the top of this forum "So you want to be a physicist" which has a lot of information that is targeted at US students but should nevertheless mostly apply to people like you, as far as graduate school is concerned.

Last edited: Aug 26, 2012
  4. Aug 27, 2012 #3