Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Function vs. Functional?

1. Sep 7, 2010 #1
    My background is in physics, not pure mathematics, so please try to explain in ways that we lay-people could understand ;)
    I'm brushing up on my calculus of variations--specifically Hamilton's principle--in which it is stated that the integrand is a 'functional,' not a 'function.' I've read that a 'functional' is a mapping from a vector space to a scalar, e.g. from a vector space to its underlying field--but I don't quite understand the significance of this. If someone could elaborate on the explanation, or provide a physically-motivated example, that would be very helpful!

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 7, 2010 #2
    Suppose f is a function on R (like f(x)=sin(x)). Fix a point a.
    the assign to each function f its value f(a) at a. The map

[tex]f\mapsto f(a)[/tex]

assigns to each function a number - its value at the point a. It is an example of a functional. Another example. Chose two points a,b. Assign to each function f the number

[tex]\int_a^b f(x)^2\, dx[/tex]

You have another example of a functional.
    The first example is a linear functional. The second example (because of the square) is a non-linear functional.

4. Sep 7, 2010 #3
    Thank you for your reply!
    But, I still don't understand what's special about these equations (for example); why aren't they just functions?
    i.e. some function g(a,b) s.t.
    [tex]
    g(a,b) \equiv \int_a^b f(x)^2\, dx
    [/tex]
    You're plugging in some 'a' and 'b', and getting a result 'g'.... no?

5. Sep 7, 2010 #4
    No, that is not the point. The correct notation should be:

[tex]F_{a,b}(f)=\int_a^b f(x)^2\,dx[/tex]