Gaining independence as a postdoc

In summary: If your are employed, your an employee and your are not independent.Therefore, the minimum for your is to collaborate with your boss. Sure, I'm being employed so I'm not asking to run my own lab. As a postdoc however, I expect to be trained towards independence, or at least be given the opportunity to develop. Collaboration is not the problem, expectations is.I'm an undergraduate that is working with a postdoc. I've only met the PI 1 time, and I'm completely under the direction of the postdoc. The research we are doing is an offshoot of the project that the PI is working on. It uses the same experiment but focuses on a different aspect of it.Does
Monique
Staff Emeritus
Science Advisor
Gold Member
After four years of postdoc I'm wondering how one develops further. I have set up a research line that is independent from my supervisors, but I'm using the lab resources. That means my supervisors are claiming the project and are closing me in. I've obtained funding for a PhD student, which was based on my conception of a project, but now I'm not allowed to carry responsibility for training of the student. I've come up with a promising new research line for the student to follow, but the idea is instantly assimilated by my supervisors and I feel shut out.

I've had a little conversation about the situation, that I expect more independence and responsibility. The message was: "No way am I letting you have responsibility, I've worked my * off to establish the lab and I'm not letting you take profit from that". Actually a while ago a researcher approached me, he was interested in setting up a research line with me. After this recent enlightenment I suspect my supervisor told him I can't be his collaborator.