1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Getting into financial industry from physics

1. May 30, 2007 #1
    hey
    I hard that many financial companies hire physics students for quantitative jobs. how much is that true. and I also hard that they hire students from top 10 univs only. how much true is this? If I get some background in finance and develop skilll in c/c++ is there any chance to get into financial sector after Physics PhD from somewhere in 50 ranking university? I am an international student, so that is also to be considered.

Thanks

2. jcsd
  3. May 30, 2007 #2
    finance is easy. Id assume so. I think a physics student would on average be smarter than a finance student just the finance student might be more up to date in their knowledge. Maybe you could study part time in finance and look for work or do an overload of units in finance.

Im not an employer though that is just my opinion of people who study physics.

4. May 30, 2007 #3

JasonRox

Homework Helper
    Gold Member

No one cares if you're an international student. Just make sure you have a visa or something to work.

To make it anywhere in the finance sector, I'd recommend getting a professional designation, and let the requirements of those designations dictate what you should take. I'm not from the US, but I don't think there are designations for just quantitative work. Even if there isn't, for competitive reasons, it would probably be good to get one if it's not too much work. Some places will hire you if you're in the process of getting one, so you don't have to wait until you're done.

5. May 30, 2007 #4

JasonRox

Homework Helper
    Gold Member

PS. Finance is not easy.

6. May 30, 2007 #5
    relative to physics imo

7. May 30, 2007 #6

morphism

Science Advisor