Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

God, you're dumb and you're a WHAT?

1. Jan 15, 2006 #1

Pengwuino

Gold Member

Do you ever run into people during your studies or out in life who seem so unbelievably dumb and incompetant... and then you ask them what they do/are majoring in, and its like "Well i'm a doctor" or "I'm a civil engineer" or "I'm supervisor of the nth largest internet backbone"??? It's rather scary to think that you may be working in a building where the designer was an alcoholic partier during college and this just might be one of his first designs :uhh: :uhh: :uhh: :uhh:

The jobs that you go to as a trade school scare me the most.... and i'm talking about the people who weren't good enough for a real college... "Oh hey, I install gas lines under your house" or "I maintain 747's for the airliner you're about to hop on to". Kinda makes you wonder.....

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 15, 2006 #2
    "What type of job could an incompetent:person as yourself possibly have?"

"Im the safety technician at the local nuclear reactor"

O_____________________O

*moves far far away*

4. Jan 15, 2006 #3
    Yeah that has definitely happened to me. It scares me when I think about how many idiots seem to be in engineering, or medicine or anything where there is any responsibility. Some people just aren't meant for that, I don't know how they make it through.

Oh, and I hope you weren't implying that only dumb people go to trade schools. Trades are a valuable part of society, just as much as any university degree. I apologize if you don't think that, I just hate it when people think they are better because they have a university degree, and that everything else is secondary to that.

5. Jan 15, 2006 #4

Pengwuino

Gold Member