1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Graduated with a BS in Physics with terrible GPA. What next? help?

1. Oct 5, 2014 #1
    So like the title indicates, I graduated with a terrible GPA (2.6) and no papers published and no research experience in December. It took me 5 1/2 years instead of 4. I could go into how this happened but I doubt it is relevant to either you all or potential employers. Since I graduated I've been working various part-time jobs and some tutoring, none-of which have the potential to ever let me move out of my parents house, while naively keeping the dream of graduate school alive while I prepare to re-take the GRE this month. I'm coming to the conclusion now that I really just don't have a chance to get into grad school even if I do well on the GRE and can convince some professors to write me a letter. I don't really know what to do. I'd always hoped to continue my education because I love studying this subject but I have to face reality and I don't know what I can do that won't leave me unfulfilled and overworked.

I know a few programming languages (By "know", I mean I've done basic numerical stuff with them and put them on my resume) and that's about it. Am I employable anywhere that will give me a real life? Because I feel like I'm not. What do you recommend? Is getting a masters degree while working on the side worth the loans? Should I go back to school and get some other degree? Will previous credits transfer?

I guess I'm just looking for help in general. I might feel better if I can get some technical-minded job with a salary.

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 5, 2014 #2

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor