1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Gravitational potential energy from ∞ to r

1. May 12, 2013 #1
    Hello, I'm a high school student studying for the AP Physics test tomorrow. I've been having trouble proving the negative value of gravitational potential energy through working out the work integral. I will greatly appreciate any help and clarification.

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

Find the change in gravitational potential energy ##\Delta U## by calculating the work done by the gravitational force to bring a particle of mass ##m_2## from infinity, to a position at a distance ##r## from another particle of mass ##m_1##

2. Relevant equations

$$\begin{align}\Delta U&=-W\\ U_r-U_\infty&=-W_G \\ W_F &=\int\vec{F}\cdot d\vec{r}\\ W_G &=\int^r_\infty \vec{F_G}\cdot d\vec{r} \end{align}$$

3. The attempt at a solution

$$\begin{align}\vec{F_G}\cdot d\vec{r} &=-\frac{Gm_1 m_2}{r^2}\hat r\cdot -d\vec r\\ &=\frac{Gm_1 m_2}{r^2} dr\\ W_G &=Gm_1 m_2 \int^r_\infty \frac{dr}{r^2} \\&=Gm_1 m_2 \Big ( \frac1 \infty - \frac1 r\Big )\\ &=-\frac {Gm_1 m_2}{r}\\ U_\infty&=0 \\ U_r&=\frac {GMm}{r}\end{align}$$

Of course the answer should be negative, since ##\vec F_G## does positive work in moving a particle inwards from an infinite distance. The calculation works out fine when I move a particle from an arbitrary distance ##r## to ##\infty##, but not the other way around. I suspect that I may be working out the dot product wrong in the work equation. The way I see it is that both ##d\vec r## and ##\vec F_G## are in the negative radial direction, so their dot product is positive. Is the infinitesimal ##d\vec r## intrinsically always positive even if the displacement is in the negative radial direction?

2. jcsd
  3. May 12, 2013 #2