Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Having a lot of interests is not really good right?

1. Apr 18, 2013 #1
    Being a computer science undergraduate, I find myself reading all sorts of academic subjects - science, maths, literature, social science etc. Ofcourse I write programs too.

The point is that other people who just love doing programming will know much more as they are able to devote more time.

Suggest me something - should I just stop reading extra stuff and focus on my discipline or just continue what I am doing and enjoy studying

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 18, 2013 #2
    Ahhhh..... The curse of the polymath... What you need to do is get your priorities in order and look at which of your 'interests' you will spend the most time in. Always have goals! Work towards the most important of things.

4. Apr 18, 2013 #3
    It depends how many interests you have, and what those interests are, in order to -subjectively- determine if having all of them is not really good.

5. Apr 18, 2013 #4
    I think it's good to explore stuff in general. Imagine if you didn't. You gotta practise your craft too, but don't ever stop exploring. :)

You'll be an interesting person, if nothing else!

6. Apr 18, 2013 #5
    I want to follow your advice but then I am scared of the competition. Companies want programmers not an interesting person.

7. Apr 18, 2013 #6
    Entrepreneurs are the next big thing...

8. Apr 18, 2013 #7
    Do whatever you like as long as you keep your grades up.

9. Apr 18, 2013 #8
    Slow down the pace at which you explore those interests if you need to. Don't stop them though, as knowing more things outside your field might actually help strengthen your field (be it social, work-related, etc...) in the long run.

10. Apr 18, 2013 #9

Dembadon

Gold Member