1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Courses Help Me Cope With a Heavy Courseload This Fall!

1. Jun 5, 2010 #1
    I am a sophomore Mechanical Engineering major transferring from a really crappy college to the University at Buffalo, which is a halfway decent engineering school. I want to rock my first semester with a 4.0 and try to get some scholarships for my junior year. The problem is, that I need to take a fairly heavy courseload to catch up to the other students because I transferred.

Here are the classes under my belt:
    - Calc I
    - Calc II
    - Physics I (Classical Mechanics)
    - Physics I Lab

Here are the classes I'm taking in the fall (ends up as 18 credit hours):
    - Calc III w/ recitation
    - Physics II (Electricity and Magnetism) w/ recitation and Lab
    - Statics
    - Computation for Engineers w/ Lab (Essentially a very basic C++ programming course w/ engineering applications)
    - Engineering Ethics and Standard Practices

*I don't have a job this summer and can dedicate my time to studying and hanging out with my gf (isn't life good?).

These are the materials I have:
    - Physics I textbook and accompanying workbook
    - "An Intro to Mechanics" by Kleppner and Kolenkow
    - "Calculus: A Physical and Intuitive Approach" by Kline (Covers Calc I and II topics w/ physics applications)

I was also looking at the MIT Opencourseware Calc III course:

***So, what should I do this summer to make my fall semester seem like a breeze, and make me more able to impress my professors (which decide who gets most of the engineering dept. scholarship money)?
  2. jcsd
  3. Jun 5, 2010 #2
    To be honest, that isn't a very heavy schedule. At least for engineering, you should expect more on the way around 3rd yr.