1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Help with Michael Spivak's fourth edition calculus book

1. Dec 16, 2011 #1
    Hi,
    I am having difficulties doing the problems in Michael Spivak's fourth edition calculus book.
    I am not sure how to approach the problems. I am able to understand the contents chapters but when I start to do the chapter problems, I have no idea how to do them.Any advice will be appreciated.By the way I am a first year student.

Thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 16, 2011 #2
    You're a first year student in what? Music? Physics? It would be helpful if you could provide more details. It's impossible to properly help you when we have nothing to work with. What courses have you taken before? Do you have experience with proofs and proof techniques? How much calculus do you already know?

4. Dec 16, 2011 #3

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

Spivak does indeed have quite difficult exercises. They're very worthwhile to solve, but they can be hard. I suggest getting perhaps a Schaum's outline and make exercises from that book first. These are the ones you actually need.

5. Dec 16, 2011 #4
    I have the same question

The book's first chapter is very vague. Not that the information is vague but I don't really know what they are asking for. For example, they ask something like
    prove that
    lXYl = lXl x lYl

....what am I supposed to say, in what kind of form?
    In high school, the only thing that was similar to this was trig identity where you had to say left side equals right side

6. Dec 16, 2011 #5