Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Hi, from newcomer J. interested in string/M

1. Sep 14, 2010 #1

Science Advisor
    Gold Member
    Dearly Missed

This greeting from a newcomer was posted out of place (in bibliography) so I copy here, to give J. his own thread. Please welcome.

My comment: Jonny the core message here may actually belong in the "Academic guidance" forum up near the top of PF main menu. I will copy and highlight what I think is the gist, in case anyone wants to respond. Good luck with your courses this semester!

==quote what I think is the main message==
    I am a freshman in college and I am studying math my guts out because String theory, and other proposed GUT theories require the craziest math I know of. Is the "math path" on the superstringhtheory website accurate? I am basing my studies off of that, although I don't know any other math than that anyways haha. Is it possible to learn any technical information about string theory with the mathematics level of multivariable calculus? I assume no, but if so please let me know.

I am currently in multivariable calculus class, while studying differential equations, linear algebra, and I am walking into a Classical Mechanics and graduate differential equations (that class I understand much less than the others but I try to pick up on a few things. For example, they went over lp norms and I researched that, ...
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2010
  2. jcsd
  3. Sep 14, 2010 #2
    Thanks marcus, I apologize for the misplaced post.
    I didn't realize that topic was for news
  4. Sep 14, 2010 #3