How can I dissolve plant material without changing-

In summary, this expert thinks that distillation is the most efficient way to extract plant matter without destroying its chemical make up. She also recommends CO2 extraction as the industrial solution, but notes that unless you're an engineer, you probably shouldn't do it.
Crafticharli
I have a question which is ungoogleable.

Question:

What is the most efficient way to fully dissolve plant matter without destroying its chemical make up, for distillation purposes?

Background Information:

I started down this rabbit hole while researching the viability of a artisanal soap making small business. I realized that everything you find online has "kitchen warriors" who are "experts" and have zero idea about chemistry or the importance of precise measurements. I am not a chemist but I am a computer systems engineer, and if I'm going to do something, I'm going to do it right. It was during this research that I realized a substantial amount of money could be saved by self distillation which led me to my question.

When extracting plant "essential oils" - which I have discovered are NOT oils at all, but "plant essence" in a carrier oil - the basic process involves steam distillation which seems to me terribly wasteful.

This led me to wonder; if I ground up the plant material and boiled it in a round bottom flask into a glass distillation setup - would this produce more product? Why do these people on instruction sites (who are not chemists) insist that chopping up the plant matter would reduce what you can get out of it? Searching for this answer led me here.

Chemistry news on Phys.org
aaaaand STONERS FOR THE WIN!

Not really - lol - I should say "cannabis extraction experts" I should have thought of this, but they have already figured out everything I wanted to know.