How can I get hands-on skills?

• Thread starter nuclear85
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Skills
In summary, the speaker has a PhD in Nuclear Engineering with a focus on irradiation damage to materials. They have an undergraduate degree in physics and printmaking. However, they currently only do computer simulations and do not have much hands-on experience in engineering. They express a desire to work with 3D printers and textiles, but feel like they are losing the opportunity to learn those skills. They wonder if it is possible to gain hands-on experience once they find a job and where people typically acquire those skills if not through research. The speaker also mentions the possibility of doing a postdoc in their desired field.
nuclear85
I'm about a year away from finishing my PhD in Nuclear Engineering with a focus on irradiation damage to materials. I have an undergraduate degree in physics, and another in printmaking.

Currently, I do only computer simulations. Though my degree will technically be engineering, my simulations are basic science, really. So, I really don't have a lot of experience with engineering, per se. I would really love to do something more hands-on... like, with 3D printers, textiles... actually making something, while using my materials knowledge! When I started my graduate career and picked an advisor, he said there would be opportunity for experimental work, but it just never panned out. Now that I'm about to graduate, I feel like I'm losing the opportunity to learn that kind of thing.

I just don't want to sit behind a computer everyday for the rest of my life, although I'm certainly willing to do some of that! Is it possible to get hands-on kind of experience once I find a job somewhere? I see a lot of interesting postings, but I don't have the mechanical skills needed. Where do people get these skills if they weren't directly part of one's undergraduate/graduate research?

Physics news on Phys.org