How did Einstein see that Entanglement lead to Connectedness

In summary, Einstein's realization about EPR entanglement was a result of his belief that QM was incomplete. He saw that the principle of superposition, which he believed to be a fundamental aspect of QM, allowed for entanglement of particles. This entanglement meant that particles could be connected in a way that seemed to defy traditional concepts of distance, time, and velocity. This was a unique phenomenon predicted by QM and was a strong motivation for those who believed in "spooky action at a distance." Einstein also had a great admiration for Dirac's Principles of QM, which was based on the principle of superposition. Research has shown that entanglement is a fundamental aspect of QM.
LoveQM
I am studying the history of Quantum Mechanics and was reading about particle entanglement. What I would like to know is how did Einstein see that particle Entanglement meant that particles would be affected by spooky action at a distance. I guess that spooky action at a distance may also be associated to mean a form of connectedness. I would like to understand what led him to this conclusion? Put another way what is it in the formulations of QM that suggested that this particular phenomenon would occur? I am an avid reader of physics books and magazines so please feel free to give as much detail as you like.

Physics news on Phys.org
LoveQM said:
What I would like to know is how did Einstein see that particle Entanglement meant that particles would be affected by spooky action at a distance. I guess that spooky action at a distance may also be associated to mean a form of connectedness. I would like to understand what led him to this conclusion?

Einstein did not believe in "spooky action at a distance (FTL influences)." There were (and are) others who do. Certainly, entanglement of distant objects - as predicted by QM - would be a strong motivation for that view.

Likes bhobba
DrChinese said: