Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How do I determine the half life of an alpha particle?

1. Mar 5, 2013 #1
    I am fairly new to nuclear chemistry and I was just curious as how to find the half life of a helium nucleus. Would it be the same as finding the half life of 1 neutron x2 and 1 proton x2? Or is this the completely wrong way to do this. Also would the half life be the same as a helium atom or completely different? This isn't for any homework assignment, I am just curious.

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 5, 2013 #2
    Helium nucleus is stable, also helium atom is stable. Stability of atom is given by stability of its nucleus.

Standalone neutron half life is 15 minutes and it is not related to half life of various nuclei. There are effects in nucleus which "stabilize" the neutron.

4. Mar 5, 2013 #3
    Not completely. There are many unstable atoms with a stable nucleus, starting with beryllium 7, and a few stable atoms with unstable nucleus.
    It is not unrelated, but the half-lives of various nuclei are not given by neutron lifetime. Rather, neutron is one nucleus of many, and the rules giving nucleus lifetime apply to free neutrons among others.

5. Mar 5, 2013 #4

Bill_K

Science Advisor

I can't think of one, could you give an example?

6. Mar 5, 2013 #5

mfb

2016 Award

Staff: Mentor

All nuclei where electron capture is the only possible decay process, but I think those are quite rare.
    I am interested in an example here, too.

The helium 4 nucleus is stable if the proton is stable. If it is not, the individual nucleons in the nucleus can decay, and the nucleus has a lifetime comparable to the lifetime of protons (more than 10^30 years). The electrons are not relevant here.

7. Mar 5, 2013 #6
    Dysprosium 163.

Not sure whether others exist or whether Dy-163 is the only one.

8. Mar 6, 2013 #7

ZapperZ

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor