1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How do I publish scientific papers?

1. Mar 21, 2009 #1
    I am a freshman at a university (I'm 16 years old- skipped 2 grades in school) and I'm planning to major in physics. After reading more specialized books in the library, and having some discussions with professors I have come up with a couple ideas that I would like to develop further and eventually publish. I am very skilled at mathematics and physics though I hardly have any good computer skills. I just want to know what kind of technologies that I can use to write scientific papers on the computer? What do most scientists use? Thanks so much.

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 21, 2009 #2

cristo

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

You should learn latex: http://www.latex-project.org/. However, it would be more important to actually do the research before thinking about writing up something that doesn't exist :wink:

4. Mar 21, 2009 #3

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

I agree with Cristo, that it's a good idea to first do the work and I would add that it's important to develop a formal education in your field before trying to publish anything.

However, I personally feel that the craft of scientific writing is largely ignored in undergraduate education and so I think there would certainly be a benefit to anyone who tries to write a paper at your level, even if it doesn't lead to anything in the first few years.

5. Mar 21, 2009 #4
    For starters you wont be publishing anything yourself for a good long time, if you are going to be doing lots of research work at University it'll be the project leader (your dr/professor) that publishes it but you'll have your name on it.