Senior student publishing a first paper

In summary: Weak" is an ambiguous term. I don't worry about the perceived importance in my papers or the papers of students I mentor. Many opportunities for student publication are in areas perceived as less important. I focus more on correctness - not just on technical correctness in the method and results section - but also on a correct assessment of value in the discussion section.Overstating experimental validation for a theoretical or computational contribution is common error. Likewise, overstating the impact or generality of an experimental result is a common error. It is better to show humility and understate these things.
patric44
hi guys
I am a senior student major in physics and i have a little question : recently i was trying to publish a paper in a journal with an impact factor of about 0.4 and a cite score of 1 its indexed in the Scimago database, after submitting the paper i got a moderate revision as a first decision and I am happy with that i am working on the revision now , and i have a little concern, will it be bad for me in the future as a researcher to have some papers in low IF journals ?
another question : if the paper i published is not very strong (say its an idea for teaching a physical concept or a proposed physical experiment) will it be bad for my resume in the future ?

Physics news on Phys.org
If the referees say your paper is good enough to be published I think that's good news. You can always aim at a higher IF journal in the future.

Likes member 428835 and patric44
Worry more about the content of your papers than the IF of the journals.

In Physics, the reputation of the journals is more important than the impact factors. But no one is going to hold journals with poor reputations against you for stuff you publish while a student. If you do good work, eventually you should have some things published in higher tier journals.