How do we know the universe is expanding?

In summary, the universe is expanding at an accelerated rate. The distance to the matter that emitted the CMB is increasing at the rate of 3.3 times the speed of light.
anonchi
Im very new to astronomy and astrophysics, so this may be a very simple question.

I read somewhere that astronomers observed that galaxies further away were moving away at a faster speed than galaxies closer to us. Hence, the universe is expanding at an accelerated rate. However, when we observe the galaxies that are further away, we are actually observing those galaxies as they were millions of years ago. Doesn't that mean that the speeds we observed were the speeds millions of years ago and not today? Could it be that those same galaxies are moving slower today?

Space news on Phys.org
I have much the same problem. The further away something is the faster it is moving and the greater the redshift but the further back in time we are looking.
Can anyone tell me please
1. How do we know when light has been traveling 10billion years when in that 10b years that redshift occurred.
2. How fossil light has any relevance to the universe today. e.g. fossil dino bones exist but have little relevance to the Earth today unless you go 70 light years away and look back, in which case the dinos still rule the earth.
3. Has redshift been measured on a close galaxy over a period of time and still found to be increasing as against measuring it over different ages and distances.
4. The CMB has a redshift of 1100 what does this mean in terms of speed, or how fast is it moving away from us?

anonchi said:
I read somewhere that astronomers observed that galaxies further away were moving away at a faster speed than galaxies closer to us. Hence, the universe is expanding at an accelerated rate.