Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How does black hole evaporation end?

1. Feb 23, 2008 #1
    Someone asked me what happens when micro-black holes evaporate, and I have no idea, not really knowing anything about the theory of black holes, other than what you learn in a first course in GR. What he was asking was whether the black hole just keeps emitting energy (in the form of Hawking radiation, I presume?) until there is nothing left, or at some point is it light enough that it's no longer a black hole at all, but is just a lump of stuff?

My guess was that there is some critical value of the event horizon radius below which it no longer makes sense to talk about something as a black hole anymore, but I don't know what that would be - maybe some kind of effective size of the particle(s) involved?

Is this even a meaningful question? I hope so, but I'm a virtual layman when it comes to this stuff.
  2. jcsd
  3. Feb 23, 2008 #2
    I, as Rioghio extreme, also known as Quantum Leap, think it is the most viable question ever asked.
  4. Feb 23, 2008 #3
    Don't I know you from somewhere?? ;-)
  5. Feb 23, 2008 #4
    If there do exist micro-black holes at all, then that is your answer, they evaporate and yet continues to exist as black holes even to the micro stage.
  6. Feb 24, 2008 #5
    From what I recall the black hole continues to shrink until it reaches an effective radius on par with the planck length, at which point, as the name evaporation implies, it just 'explodes' into a lot of energy via photons and leptons, and it does this because I suppose as you said, it becomes too 'light' to be a black hole still and also has then an enormous temperature.
  7. Feb 24, 2008 #6