Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How harming will be this boxing or street boxing?

1. May 8, 2010 #1
    Hello =). Well ive been training for 5 months, now i wana test my abilities, in my high school, guys make fights of 3 minutes, with gloves and only boxing(boxing technique is what ive been training). Im physicaly feet, i have devastating punching power, so the question will be, how much brain damage will be to do this fights once in a month. I wana beocme a physicist or a an engineer so this year will be the last i do this kind of stuff.

2. jcsd
  3. May 8, 2010 #2

Office_Shredder

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

This sounds like an incredibly bad idea

4. May 8, 2010 #3
    No brain damage If you don't get hit.:rofl:
    edit:
    I just realized that the fights are organized by "guys at high school". If the fights are not organized by someone competent. Like a professional trainer in a club with clear rules you should not do it.

Last edited: May 8, 2010
  5. May 8, 2010 #4

lisab

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

You really should http://store.titleboxing.com/headgear.html" [Broken]. Oh and a mouth guard - you'll miss your teeth when they're gone!

If you don't have that kind of equipment, then you and your partner have to pull your punches (i.e., don't hit full force). Also, don't spar like this with beginners, it's a hard thing to learn and novices aren't good at it.

Last edited by a moderator: May 4, 2017
  6. May 8, 2010 #5

Actually headgear just help fro bruises but not for the brain damage. Myabe if i only do it one in a year? 2 minutes of hits to the brain, how hard can it be, and im not planing to loose.

7. May 8, 2010 #6

Perhaps it's too late already? :bugeye:

8. May 8, 2010 #7
  9. May 8, 2010 #8
    Hhahahaha yeah maybe, i practiced boxing 1.5 years ago and i suffered horrible hooks.