1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How Important is summer research to a grad school application?

1. Sep 23, 2011 #1
    I'm a third year physics student interested in grad school. My marks are ok (85% average), and I should be able to get a letter of reference for grad school based on a 4th year Honours project. How important is a summer research position to a grad school application?

I can probably get a research position next summer, but I have a job I can't abandon unless it's necessary (my parents run a small computer business and need me to work for them during the summer).

thanks in advance for the advice

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 23, 2011 #2
    I'm assuming your non-US? I've heard that grad schools particularly in the UK put more emphasis on coursework and transcript (grades/GPA) than research/papers, whereas the US does the opposite. They both still value the LORs and statement of purposes the most though.

However, whether or not research is preferred over coursework, it will certainly still help if you have done research.

4. Sep 23, 2011 #3
    I'm pretty sure my two summer experiences got me into grad school. The first was with a professor in his lab, the second was an internship at a fortune 500 company.

I was inspired enough by the second one that it helped me to write a legit, inspired statement of purpose. Also, I'm pretty sure my letters of recommendation were very flattering. You can't get personal accolades like that just by being in someone's class.

5. Sep 23, 2011 #4

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

Obviously reseach experience can boltster your application for graduate school, but doing it over the summer is not critical Lots of people get into graduate school without any research experience.