1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How much do you get to help/deal with people in engineering?

1. Jul 17, 2015 #1
    Hi! I'm a high school student currently looking to potentially go to college for engineering. I'm not very concerned with my abilities in math and science, as I've always done well in those subjects and math in particular is a favorite subject of mine. However, I'm wondering if there's a branch of engineering that might fit with my interests more. The main reason I've strayed from considering engineering in the past is because I want a career where I can interact with people to some degree, help them, and be able to see and know that I'm helping them. From what I've read, engineering is about creating solutions to problems, but I'd like to be able to interact with the people I'm helping more than it seems most engineers do.

Does anyone have experience or knowledge about this aspect of engineering, or know of a branch that fits what I'm looking for? Sorry if my question is hard to understand. Thank you so much for your input!

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 17, 2015 #2
    I don't think you are looking for one kind of engineering or another (Mechanical, Electrical, or Civil, for example), but rather for a job after graduation within your chosen field that will have lots of people interaction.

4. Jul 17, 2015 #3

SteamKing

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Believe me, once you become an engineer, you will not lack for interaction with different people, especially as deadlines for projects approach. You will be urged to create time travel ("I need this done, and I need it done yesterday!"), and constantly motivated to do the impossible with little in the way of time, money, or other resources.