1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Featured Studying How much time should I study?

1. Aug 19, 2018 #1

Felipe Lincoln

Gold Member

I'm having trouble in studying. I am studying full time from Monday to Monday but I just cannot get focused all the time, I realized that more than half of the time I'm sleepy or struggling to maintain my focus. I'm doing my degree in physics and I feel like I need to study full time, but I just can't do it, what should I do?

Last edited: Aug 20, 2018
  2. jcsd
  3. Aug 19, 2018 #2

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

While it's a general rule that the more time you spend studying the better you do, this has its limits. Really, you want quality, focused study time where you're actively learning and engaged with problem sets. Time spent mindlessly staring at a textbook is really not much better than time spent doing something completely different.

Some general tips to help you stay focused, in no particular order...
    1. Take breaks. Just like an athlete can't sustain maximum performance for an indefinite time, you can't expect to do that either. Allow your mind some time to relax.
    2. Take the time to remind yourself why you love what you're studying. This means spending some time on stuff that you find interesting outside of assigned material. It's a lot easier to maintain your motivation if you're feeding that curious part of your mind, rather than trying to lock it up while you're concentrating only on assigned material.
    3. Be sure you're getting good sleep.
    4. Be sure you're eating properly.
    5. Be sure you're getting adequate exercise.