1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How Rabi frequency scales with laser intensity?

1. Jun 15, 2015 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    It's not a homework, I'm just studying for the exam, but one question that I'm not sure of the answer is:
    "In the semiclassical model of a two-level atom interacting with a monochromatic field, how does the Rabi frequency scale with the laser intensity"

2. Relevant equations
    rabi.png
    Also, V=d*E0 (I'm not sure how to put formulas here, sorry)
    3. The attempt at a solution
    Do I assume no damping? Still, I think something is missing...

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 19, 2015 #2

blue_leaf77

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Well you can say ##V^2 \propto I## since intensity is proportional to the square modulus of the electric field amplitude ##E_0##. Several approximations assumed in arriving in that expression of Rabi frequency are:
    1) Two participating levels approximation: Generally in tackling problems of time-dependent Hamiltonian, one uses the eigenstates of the time-independent part of the Hamiltonian as the bases into which the true wavefunction of the system is expanded, clearly there will be an infinite number of terms. However it can be simplified in the case where the frequency of the interacting light is close to the frequency difference of certain pair of eigenstates, and we can approximate the true wavefunction as a linear combination of only those two coupled eigenstates of the time-independent part of the Hamiltonian.
    2) Dipole approximation: the "size" of the participating wavefunctions from point 1) be much smaller than the wavelength of the light the atom in question is interacting with.

Last edited: Jun 19, 2015
  4. Jun 22, 2015 #3