How Safe Are Campus Computers? - I Made CC Transaction

• Thread starter kyphysics
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Computers
In summary: That said, if you're feeling extra paranoid, you can always use a virtual private network (VPN) to encrypt your connection and protect your data.
kyphysics
I made a credit card transaction at my college's engineering open computer lab (I'm NOT an engineering student, but anyone can use it if they are students).

I didn't think much about it at the time, but then started feeling a little weird about it later on today. I figured in the back of my mind that the university probably updates and protects these computers as well as anyone. I always see those nightly "computers will be shutting down and updating" messages that forces us off the PCs for a while for maintenance. I figured they'd probably be just as safe is not safer than my home PC. But now I'm having some regrets, since I'm not very knowledgeable about computers.

Was my assumption right? How safe are college computers and should I block my credit card to be safe?

Computer science news on Phys.org
You should always err on the side of caution. Being a public computer means you don't know what's really on it. It could've been infected with malware not detectable by virus protection yet.

The university has no obligation to protect the computer although I'm sure they do because they need to keep their network operating and their staff protected from threats.

However like all institutions they may not go far enough in doing so until they get hacked big time and become more security conscious.

Your best bet is to go back to that computer and erase the browser history, saved passwords... If you can and then to contact your credit card company to let them know what you did. They will monitor your account more carefully and might even issue you a new card. You could also have a monitoring service like experian watch your credit history which is good anytime.

Likes Routaran