1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Other How to be productive this summer?

1. Jun 19, 2017 #1
    Hi all,

I'm a second year undergraduate studying physics living in London, searching for something productive to do over the summer. I'm free from now until the end of September. I know it's probably too late to apply for a scientific internship, but would appreciate any advice on things I can get involved in over the summer that would enhance my application to graduate schools to study physics, or just to improve my CV in general. I appreciate any advice you guys can give, thank you! :smile:

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 19, 2017 #2

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

Usually, if you're looking for some kind of an internship or research position you need to start looking well before the summer starts. For next summer try to keep an eye out for positions during the academic year and the deadlines for their applications.

This summer still has about two a half months left.

The first thing I would do, if you're not currently doing anything, is get a job - any job. I know that has nothing to do with physics, but summer jobs can help you to build up some cash for the year, and potentially reduce any student debt. More importantly though, depending on the position, it can help you develop "soft skills" that you wouldn't otherwise pick up through your education - skills such as talking with customers, negotiating, handling workplace politics, and a wide array of other possible things depending on the specifics of the position.